asked Nov 19 '14 at 16:56 by stylemistake (1.1k)

edited Nov 19 '14 at 16:59

4
2

Is it possible to deactivate a machine and free up an activation in case my PC/Laptop was:

  • Broken;
  • Sold;
  • Disk replaced/repartitioned;
  • OS reinstalled?

As far as I know, Ableton provides a way to revoke an activation (something like sending a deactivation request from Live). I would love to see that implemented (in case it is not), because it's a lot of hassle for me currently and other folks, who reinstall their system very frequently. In my case, i just transferred my Ubuntu system from ext4 to btrfs without reinstalling, and suddenly Bitwig Studio asked me to reactivate.

So, Is it possible?

Thanks.

Hi stylemistake. I had this same problem. I just emailed them - they will deactivate and free up activations immediately.

Unfortunately Bitwig's activation system isn't intelligent enough to figure out that it's the same machine based on the specs, like most activators do, but it's not too difficult to sort out.

link

answered Nov 22 '14 at 14:15 by raviolifaceman (141)

1

I think authorization module shouldn't do that, but instead give an option to deauth currently authorized machine. I think that would be nice, however can be possibly abused by crackers. Anyway, thanks for a response.

  — (Nov 22 '14 at 16:42) stylemistake

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or __italic__
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Tags:

×28
×6
×3

Asked: Nov 19 '14 at 16:56

Seen: 1,465 times

Last updated: Nov 24 '14 at 05:26