asked Jul 14 '16 at 21:44 by mholloway (51)

edited Jul 14 '16 at 21:45

0
1

I've noticed that if I use a Drum Machine (one that i've built myself and saved into the bitwig library) in a song, all of the samples in the drum machine will be saved in a samples folder in the project folder for that song.

That behavior is cool, but is there a way to turn it off? I create HUGE drum machine kits loaded with samples and save them into the user library for later use in my songs. A single song can contain 4 or 5 or more of these kits, and I might only actually play a few samples from them -- but every sample in every kit gets saved into the project folder! That could mean hundreds and hundreds of samples per song. It just seems needless in this sort of scenario -- so, is there a way (or could there be a way in preferences) to make this an option to turn off? I'm aware that the project page has a way to delete unused samples, but this doesn't apply to samples stored in drum machines used by the song. The samples are already being stored somewhere in a unified location, because all my saved machines load correctly with their samples when I drag the drum machine into the project; so saving the samples a second time in the project folder very quickly becomes redundant for me, especially since so many of those samples in the machine are never being triggered in the song.

Follow this question

By Email:

Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here

Markdown Basics

  • *italic* or __italic__
  • **bold** or __bold__
  • link:[text](http://url.com/ "title")
  • image?![alt text](/path/img.jpg "title")
  • numbered list: 1. Foo 2. Bar
  • to add a line break simply add two spaces to where you would like the new line to be.
  • basic HTML tags are also supported

Tags:

×30
×10
×4

Asked: Jul 14 '16 at 21:44

Seen: 458 times

Last updated: Jul 14 '16 at 21:45